DEV Community

Play Button Pause Button

How to test Machine Learning code in Python? April 2023

Meetup Details

Joanna Lenzcuk talks about testing machine learning code in Python.

  • When: Tuesday, April 18, 2023
  • Where: LinkedIn One Wilton Park, Dublin, Ireland

How to test Machine Learning code in Python?

(30 minutes) The aim of this presentation is to illustrate the process of unit testing machine learning code using Python. Although unit testing is a familiar practice among software engineers, it is equally important for data scientists to employ it. The first segment of the talk will be a brief overview of the theory and objectives of unit testing. In the second part, I will provide practical examples of using pytest to test functions which relate to machine learning problems. I will demonstrate how to create a basic test for these types of functions, as well as a parameterized test, a mock, and a fixture.

About Joanna Lenczuk

I am a data scientist based in Dublin, Ireland. I have over three years of experience in machine learning projects. I acquired my analytical and coding skills in areas such as e-commerce, insurance and utilities. Currently, I work as a data scientist at CKDelta - a fast-growing data innovation start-up. In my current role, I am responsible for developing ML models and implementing MLOps practices.

https://www.linkedin.com/in/joanna-lenczuk


PyLadies Dublin meetups are held on 3rd Tuesday each month.

Email: dublin@pyladies.com

Other places you can find us:-


πŸ” FAQ

Q. I'm not female, is it ok for me to attend?

A. Yes, PyLadies Dublin events are open to everyone at all levels.

Q. What do you do at PyLadies Dublin Meetups?

A. We have short (or long talks), demos, folks working on their own projects, ask questions on Python-related topics, work on projects together or generally chit-chat & meet like-minded people.

Q. Do you have a Code of Conduct?

A. Yes, you can find it at dublin.pyladies.com

Q. I am interested in giving a talk, where do I submit my interest and talk details?

A. You can submit your talk details to the following form:
https://sessionize.com/pyladies-dublin-meetup

Q: Where can I find the original live-stream?

A: Original uncut livestream: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=advAYXfJvJI

Q: What did you use in post-production?

A: Davinci Resolve by Black Magic Design, it's free! https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/davinciresolve

Thumbnails are made via Canva (pro) including the intro and outro.

Top comments (0)