DEV Community

Cover image for Everyone Struggles - WSL
Obodo David
Obodo David

Posted on

Everyone Struggles - WSL

I have always known Linux distros like Ubuntu to be opensource and that it is more efficient and reliable for software development.

Since Windows is widespread, software developers employ virtual machines like Oracle virtual box to run other operating system on Windows.

This has been my default way of doing things. Running a VM on Windows always consumed lots of CPU power and RAM because I was running the full Ubuntu distro.

This practice continued until I Joined the Outreachy space. I began researching better and faster ways of doing things and this led to my discovery of WSL - Windows Subsystem for Linux.

I was skeptical at first because I was going to lose some GUI functionality that the full Ubuntu distro offered. I was also unsure of the performance and as such I reached out to my colleagues who provided better insight that led to my decision in using WSL.

Prior to using WSL, my local machine would freeze after sometime of running Ubuntu in the VM but now it doesn't do that anymore. My projects are CPU intensive but I am able to cope by minimizing the RAM and CPU usage by running WSL

It was a struggle but I rose above it because I was able to ask for help.

Top comments (0)