DEV Community

Cover image for Introduce Yourself
Obodo David
Obodo David

Posted on

Introduce Yourself

Meet David.

I am Obodo, David Sopuruchukwu, an Outreachy intern on the project

Consolidating and making reusable various react UI components from two user interfaces.

I graduated from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka in 2019 with a bachelors in Mechanical Engineering. After that, I was opportune to work with Starnet Innovations, a technology company specializing in software and web development.

My time at Starnet Innovations provided me with enthusiasm and
fueled my drive for software development. I learnt about opensource and proprietary projects, their benefits and cons.

My Core Values

“Creativity doesn’t wait for that perfect moment. It fashions its own perfect moments out of ordinary ones.” —Bruce Garrabrandt

Bruce's quote closely resonates with my being, I believe that people are born with creativity and not developing it is a disservice to humanity.

The first step is thinking out the solution (creativity), the next step is enduring the hardships that comes with bringing the creative solution to reality, this is the next best thing I possess, Determination. I always believe that it is not enough to possess an Idea, because an Idea that remains in the Idea stage is as good as not having an Idea.

I believe that there are times when we enlist the help of other people to drive our plans for the future. It is paramount that in thinking about the future, I develop the necessary skillset required to lead the people whose help I enlist. I believe that leaders are born out of circumstances but a true leader is one who in the face of adversity, maintains his/her vision and action plan for the future. Leadership is key to success

My Motivation for Outreachy.

Outreachy provides me with the opportunity to learn from very talented mentors. Outreachy projects are opensource and therefore, offers me the flexibility to contribute to projects that impact people's life. Before applying to Outreachy, there are many bias I faced in the world of tech but outreachy encourages persons faced with bias to apply for its internship.

My biggest motivation, was a friend of mine, a previous Outreachy recipient whom I met in a shared program. He told me about Outreachy and encouraged me to apply. In his words, Outreachy could redefine how I think of software engineering, and I must confess, It has.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
rakeshkr2 profile image
Rakesh KR

Hello David, Welcome to dev.to !!