DEV Community

Cover image for I knew a boy who made all the wrong choices
Ronald R
Ronald R

Posted on

I knew a boy who made all the wrong choices

Just A little Recall from a previous post of what happened

The CHOICE

So it was correct to pick 1 piece of code that will surely help me achieve Hacktoberfest milestone, it was easy enough fix documentation. I am now choosing easy stuff because the first two made me realize it was not worth the trouble trying to fix something if I can't truly enjoy the process.Specially the installation parts and testing them. I know it's quite a let down but it was getting too much for someone like me so. to recall

So let's start first with the main issue Clean up code this was simple enough remove the unused commented out code. Okay here me out the reason I took this was because I had like 7 PR at the time and I wanted to slowdown a bit. So I fixed the code and requested the first PR I finished it quickly but then they asked me to do sign the commit. So I did that before but this time it wasn't working so I kept comitting and comitting and then suddenly I had to close it and created a second PR same thing happened and on the final PR thank goodness it finnaly worked I ended up multiple commit. the way I did it was I searched online how to not mess with the branch so I encountered rebase i thought I was going to use it for this PR but nope! I had to go and study cherry-pick which was basically choosing a commit from one branch and applying it to another.

It was somewhat troublesome ang annoying to constantly open and close issues , PR because of something that doesn't work but all together trying to make it as clean as possible.

I did thank them at the very end, learning how to properly commit with verification and also learning to use cherry-pick which came in handy when it come to rebase.

Now over all this was a fairly easy issue to work with it just became a really messy affair when I couldn't fix them properly.

ON TO THE NEXT ONE!!!

Top comments (0)