DEV Community

Ronald R
Ronald R

Posted on

It's a first of many - Lab 1

I created a file entitle Waypoint as a tool to convert a txt file to HTML using python. It may seem straight forward but having minimal knowledge to python it was a very daunting task to begin, nonetheless I was able to create working yet somewhat buggy program that creates a file or folder ready to be converted.

Testing and Reviewing

It was the first time that I actually tested and reviewd that was developed by another person. It made me realize that there are truly some creative coders. Their program works magnificently though there were a few bugs but it was nothing to be concerened about at this point.

(https://github.com/bhavik001/TxtToHTML/issues/4)

this was a link to the main issued I encounter where a file was being duplicated over when the output was chosen, the developer seemed to close the matter, though I have yet to test the program

Getting Reviewed

Since this was my first open source project it was a welcome sight to get feedback from a software or tool that i developed from scratch though it might not perfect , it only let me strives even more of providing a better program. This were one of those cases where we were not bound by procedures and were given task and features the tool must do. The feedback I received was pretty straight forward but having little knowledge with python it made me realize that i do have a long way to go.

(https://github.com/rabroldan/Waypoint/issues/7)

This was one of many issues that were reported to me.
After receiving the feedbacks I looked at my code and saw that the structure itself was all over the place, something small yet can cause confusion to others, after which I decided to start commenting and propelry documenting the module to better enhance the tool.

I have yet to fix all my issues though I am working on it vigilently as time permits.

End Remarks

This was a very interesting exprience as being a student still learning how programming works, it made me exprience another different side of the field. This was a great exprience as it was applicable to the open world where we get feedback by others and not by professors.

Top comments (0)