DEV Community

Cover image for It's not quite there yet..
Ronald R
Ronald R

Posted on

It's not quite there yet..

Prologue

It was late at night, working on something. I don't even remember at this point, and I decided to go around snooping on GitHub to find the next project for "HACKTOBER."

Chapter 1 "It's not quite there yet..."

So there I was, minding my own business when I stumbled upon an issue by PinePods, specifically this Issue 108 - Add Verification before Deleting. It seemed easy enough, I said to myself, I just need to implement an if condition, and it would be perfect! The premise was there, and the entire logic was there; what could go wrong? So I hurriedly submitted a pull request Enhancement 108 and decided to go to bed.

PinePods

Before I start, let me explain what it does. PinePods is a Python app that can sync podcasts for individual accounts.

Chapter 2 "I woke up"

YUP! You read that right I WOKE UP. Why? Because I woke up and saw a notification that could barely fit the screen on my phone. I mean, who wouldn't be bothered by something like that? So I decided to open it, and truth be told, it was LONG. Now, go back to the PR link I attached and start reading. It talked about a GUI library called Flet that I needed to implement. It also talked about using Docker Compose/container to run it, which, luckily, I had some knowledge of. But then they pointed out the thing that kind of woke me up fully; I never took into consideration that the thing I did for verification was on the command line only. MY GOOD READERS, Never have I laughed so hard during my coding adventures until that day. I mean, it made GUI != command line.

Chapter 3 "Let's learn Flet"

I'll make this short, I promise. So I studied Flet and was able to understand snack bars and also alert dialogue pop-ups. It was pretty straightforward, and not going to lie, it's going to be handy for me. So I decided to start modifying it. Now to make things easier, I took the same logic and applied it to a delete verification, but this time I created a separate test module for me to work with before transferring. After a quick test, I was able to make it work and started committing and pushing.

Chapter 4 "Approved"

They approved it.

Chapter 5 "Merged"

They merged it.

Chapter 6 "Contemplating"

I don't know why I have so many chapters. Maybe I need to write something longer give a few more details.

Epilogue

After contemplating on what to write next and how Flet was useful, I ultimately thought of an idea on how and where I can use Flet. The most I could think of is for a project I've been working on I can't give any details yet, but I am pretty sure it is going to come in handy. So anyway, that's my thing for now. I have a weird experience again that happened. I came to realize that whether it be digital or in real life, I always encounter weird experiences and find myself in those situations that are pretty random even for me. Anyway, ON TO THE NEXT ONE. SEE YOU SOON!

Top comments (0)