DEV Community

Rachel Soderberg
Rachel Soderberg

Posted on

Halfway Through 2019! New Years' Goals/Resolutions Check-In

I always ring in the new year with several goals - I don't believe in dramatic resolutions, but I find it helpful to set the pace for the coming year with some things I want to achieve. Since we've just passed the halfway point of the year, I wanted to take some time to share how I'm progressing and ask how you've done on any goals you may have set for yourself.

I like to choose some goals from different parts of my life, so they are mixed between career/self-development, fitness/martial arts, and finances:

  • Read 12 technical/career development books (currently on #13!
  • Write one blog post each week on dev.to (so far so good!)
  • Complete Salesforce .NET Developer Trailhead Series
  • Back Squat 200lbs (hit 175lbs)
  • Deadlift 250lbs (stopped deadlifting, retired this goal)
  • Bench Press 130lbs (hit 120lbs)
  • Pay down all credit card debt (excluding o% APR promos)
  • Pay high-interest private student loan in full
  • Have a more positive outlook, complain less (tough, work in progress)

So as you can see, I've already achieved a few of my goals but others are still out of reach at this point. This is good and this was my intention at the start of 2019 - I give myself some "easy wins" and that helps me keep momentum throughout the year.


Your turn! What goals did you ring in 2019 with? How are they going? What are your wins? Where can you use some work?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
timothymcgrath profile image
Timothy McGrath

I love setting year long goals as well. As well as monthly goals to support them.

This year, I'm making good progress.

I finished a 10k last month in under 8 min/mile.
I'm almost done with a big Azure DevOps migration.
I'm deep into learning the ins and outs of microservices.
And I'm on track to pay off student loans.

I wanted to read 12 classics this year, but completely failed so far.
I also wanted to build more of a creator presence rather than consumer (blog, GitHub, etc.), but haven't gotten too far.

I got more work to do...

Collapse
 
rachelsoderberg profile image
Rachel Soderberg

That's a great start, and sounds like you've got some good momentum going! Congratulations on being on track for student loans payoff - I got my private loan done but still have awhile before all of it's gone.

Collapse
 
lautarolobo profile image
Lautaro Lobo

Well, I had some simple goals, finish some course on BitDegree or Udemy, and/or Free Code Camp, keep posting content on my website and go well with the subjects at my Computer Science degree that I'm chasing.

First one, almost done (final projects on FCC, hoping to finish some other course during the year).
Second one, doing it fine this far.
Third one, well, tough times are coming, a bunch of math is waiting for me on the upcoming weeks, but until now no big deal has presented.

So, as you said, so far so good!