DEV Community

Cover image for My Hacktoberfest 2020
Rahul Bordoloi
Rahul Bordoloi

Posted on

My Hacktoberfest 2020

What I Learned From Hacktoberfest

Well, it's been a while for me contributing to the open-sourced, but this was the first time I participated in a Hacktoberfest. So, what I thought of this Fest is instead of just randomly contributing to the open-sourced to main self's repository or for the sake of just completing the same, I thought of "Let's do something which will either automate people's task or will help them in real". So, that's my motto for Hacktoberfest 2020.

Coding Image

What I've Contributed

I'm and have been working on three projects this October.

The First One is "Directory Organizer" which will help you to rearrange your directory and put the files in their respective type directories making it more maintainable and easy to guide through.

The Second Project I worked on is "Directory Tree". Basically, I felt the need of designing this as we often do ls[linux] or dir [windows] to find out the folder and files present in our current working directory or let's say any directory. But, it won't give out the files present in the sub-directory of that particular directory. And also, the format they give us is not representative of the project's point of view. So, I thought of developing this project to automate the whole thing and give us just a simple command to run.

The Third and the current project I'm working on is "Rare Label One Hot Encoder". Basically, this module would be useful for a Machine Learning Project where we've to one-hot encode features, but also due to the presence of rare-labels in train-test sets, we're unable to do it. So, I'm basically automating the whole thing up.

Links for my Projects [for Hacktoberfest 2020]

  1. Directory-Organizer
  2. Directory-Tree
  3. Rare-Label-One-Hot-Enocder

Top comments (0)