DEV Community

Rajat Saxena
Rajat Saxena

Posted on

Using FreeBSD As A Linux User

For the uninitiated, FreeBSD is not just another Linux distro. I learnt that today only. So I decided to give it a try. The installation was a breeze but my normal Linux workflow did not work out of the box.

So, this is a quick post for the impatient developers like me who want to get up and running with FreeBSD as fast as possible.

Switching to Root

Turns out FreeBSD does not come pre-installed with sudo program, so your best bet is to spawn a new login shell and log in as root.

$ login

What is my IP

There is no curl or wget either. There is fetch though. Following is how you get your system's public IP.

$ fetch -q http://wtfismyip.com/text; cat text

This post is a work in progress. I will publish more things as I discover them. Keep watching this space.

Top comments (0)