DEV Community

rawkiesthinker
rawkiesthinker

Posted on • Updated on

Commited to building the open source community at home.

A pledge to building an open-source community at home.

I have been a bystander for such a long time, a beneficiary of the open-source community since, the dawn of my dev career, unaware from day one just how much it had contributed to who I am today.

There is just one flaw with this picture-perfect story, I never felt like I needed to contribute, it never occurred to me that I could contribute, I felt like an outcast.

We could even say the reason I stayed in my darkroom coding all day alone was because I felt like there was no reason to interact with anyone since I did not feel welcomed anywhere, the internet was full of people I felt like I could not interact with, everyone thought I was playing games, what a lonely time that was.

I am still to blame for most of the things I did not do to find a dev community

I am still to blame for not trying everything possible to find a mentor

The internet is a very distracting place for a teenager

Everyone has a plan for Africa what is our plan for Africa

There is nothing wrong with being helped, however, are we ready for when they help us, Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day; teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime. They have no time to teach us, it is time we teach ourselves, and that is what we have been doing.

For some reason the still feels like there is a disconnect,

If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together. is this really an African proverb we seem to really not live up to this.

Now we could say I have not done enough research, and there are communities out there, and hopefully, I find them on this new journey I have decided to embark on, I am tired of being the problem.

Open Source is the bread and butter to being a dev, it is most probably one of the biggest reasons we have so many devs's in the world, however, can we really consider ourselves developers, born to code, if we cant even create a community of developers that can help each other, that build each other, and push the boundaries of what is possibile, I have seen, alone boundaries have been pushed now imagine, if we worked together, we might have already had our own ride sharing app, our own travel app, this is not about creating the next uber, airbnb, vue.js and react, this is about creating a home for ourselves to nuture our love for code, the biproduct is one of the above mentioned, and that would be something nice to see happen, honestly right now I just want to be able to interact with dev's at home, and not feel like their ego's are in the way of the conversation, that their hustle is blinding them to the fact that they complain more then they help.

We all have individual goals, however, I do belive our individual goals have one thing in common, we want to see a better world, from us achieving our goals

I pledge to build an open-source community

alt text

Top comments (0)