DEV Community

Rayyan Ahmed Quraishi
Rayyan Ahmed Quraishi

Posted on

The struggle of relearning

Here's the problem I have been dealing with:
I used to be a decent web developer. I built a social network, a blog, and did a few small jobs as well. But then I stopped coding for a long time, now I want to get back into, but it feels so difficult. The problem is that I do not remember a lot of the stuff, so I try to relearn these things. But when I am going through the material (tutorial, blog posts, etc) I find it quite boring and hard to focus, since I kinda know it but not really.

Does this mean I have just lost interest? But I do wanna learn more CS stuff, maybe I should learn something else in CS, or maybe I just need to put in the work and get through it. I don't know

Any advice would be awesome.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
rafed123 profile image
Rafed Muhammad Yasir

Well, without practice it is natural to forget stuff. Unless you've forgotten too much, i think practicing and stumbling for 2 solid months should get you back in shape.

Collapse
 
richytong profile image
Richard Tong

Most of the time when we lose interest, it's because we're doing something we don't want to do. Pick something you want to build and learn by solving the problems as they come up.