DEV Community

Cover image for the overengineer
Leslie
Leslie

Posted on

the overengineer

Kailan ka ba titigil?

A team mate asked me when I'll finally stop. He was referring to my seemingly never-ending refactors.


The frontend landscape is always changing. You wake up, and there's two new frameworks or bundlers or "must-use" packages. Everything is changing constantly, and sometimes it's really tiring. And when I get tired of all the crazy stuff, I remember Chris.


The cover image is Chris Heilmann in JS Conf 2015. His Overboard.JS talk continues to console me to this day. It's a reminder that I don't have to use every new and shiny thing right away! Actually, I may not have to use all of them. Or any of them.

It's a matter of good judgment. And staying in this domain? It's a matter of passion.

Top comments (0)