DEV Community

rhira777
rhira777

Posted on

Getting 128GB ESXi host for my home lab [Year 2022]

Background

I want to deploy a large number of virtual routers.
-> I want to prepare 128GB ESXi host as inexpensive as possible.

Virtual appliances for commercial networking products tend to require a lot of memory. For this reason, memory size becomes a resource bottleneck when testing a network of many nodes in a virtualized environment.

This is a trend for commercial software; using FRRouting with Docker and other methods will result in resource consumption that will scale.

I thought there were numerous options for 64GB, but this time I wanted a 128GB machine. Search showed that barebone is a useful option...so I tried it with current hardware, while gratefully following the information of our predecessors who have put it into practice.

The following is a record of that.


Preparing hardware

I prepared the following hardware:

The power cable was the one included with the SH570R6.
The LAN cable was used from home.
During the ESXi installation process, I also used a display, an HDMI cable for its connection, and a USB-connected keyboard.

SSD of 1 or 2TB would also be a good option.


Preparing software and license

I prepared VMware vSphere and the license due to assuming to use and test it.

The software could be downloaded along with the license.
At the time of this trial, VMUG Advantage Membership subscriptions to be available were the following:

Image description


Installing hardware

I could finish to install hardware according to SH570R6 Series Quick Guide.

  • No physical force was required for any of the tasks.
  • During the process, the work was stopped for a while in the following places.
    • At "B. CPU and ICE Module Installation", "Unfasten the ICE fan thumbscrews on the back of the chassis" that was not included in the diagram.

Installing software

I created the USB installation media with using Rufus.

  • I confirmed to be selected USB memory as the device and specified an iso file starting with "VMware-VMvisor-Installer-".
  • I used ESXi 6.7 on this time.

After that, I connected "Installation media(to USB)" "Power cable(to AC power)" "UTP cable(to LAN)" "Display (to HDMI)" "Keyboard(to USB)" to the barebone, and powered it on.

After confirming BIOS booting, I entered BIOS setup view by entering F2 key. I specified USB as first order on Boot option in the "Boot" tab. After saving and exit from setup view, I could confirm ESXi booting.

  • When I proceeded to start ESXi as it was, the installation process stopped with "Initialiizing IOV" displayed.

When the following output in the lower right corner of the screen, I entered "o" key with pushing shift key.

Shift + O: Edit boot options

Then, following the output string, I typed "noIOMMU" after a single space and pressed Enter. ESXi booting proceeded and the installation wizard was displayed.

From then on, I confirmed the ESXi installation was complete by following the instructions to enter the information.


Result

It worked fine.

Image description

Image description
The license has been successfully installed ,too.


What I noticed

It seemed that only one LAN port was recognized by ESXi, whereas two existed. Regarding this, there was actually a phenomenon that ESXi could not connect to the network when the right LAN port was first connected, and this was resolved by replacing it with the left port.

Upon further investigation, it seems that the two LAN ports are of different types. If the second port is used in this environment, it is possible that an additional driver will be required.

Top comments (0)