DEV Community

rileyfrederick
rileyfrederick

Posted on

Learning about how to connect a Database

Hey everyone, I've been sort of a long time lurker on this site, but felt like actually making a post today.

My question: I have been a hobbiest developer for the past year or so and I would like to learn more about how to use databases within my programs. Does any one have good resources from which to start?

I've studied SQL a bit and feel sort of comfortable with the syntax, but the whole process of connecting it in a program baffles me. I never seem to get it to work. I'm currently trying to learn python at the moment.

I have taken a look at resources through out the web of sort of starting points to learn this skill, but thought I would ask this community to see if any one has any resource that has helped them out in regards to this area. Thanks for taking the time to read this

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
katnel20 profile image
Katie Nelson

It would help if you told us which SQL engine you are trying to connect to.

Collapse
 
rileyfrederick profile image
rileyfrederick

Oh sorry! sqlite