DEV Community

Ririio
Ririio

Posted on

Where laziness is destructive

I've been noticing recently that I lack the understanding of the framework I'm working on. I've been realizing it for quite some time, but I never actually fully come to learn until I landed a PR on our repo.

The Problem

It was a simple download icon that is currently non-functional. I thought it would be simple, but I hit a wall immediately right after. I recall that I used fs to write or readFile from my repo, I used it, and it wasn't working. After searching for a while I realized that remix run is a "client-side" web application, meaning that access of the local file system is restricted by default due to security reasons. I learned that I can bypass this issue by using a blob.

Once my PR was up, my professor told me that I could actually make a much cleaner and better approach by using a concept developed by remix called resource routes. He simply made a recommendation, and still approved of my PR, but it made me realized that I am lacking knowledge with how things in the repo work that is not part of the UI. I decided to c

Never Charge Blind First

When working with an area you are not familiar with, never try to charge in first, and learn along the way. It might sound simple enough, and you might find it ridiculous that I would bring up such an obvious topic, but I've noticed that some of of my fellow junior peers would head straight through a code, with the thought that their knowledge of programming would help them along the way.

They will view the code, and if they slightly understand it, they'll pick from there and move along. I find this destructive, because you aren't building a stable foundation. When I worked with the UI, I already have an understanding on how I want things to be built, simply because I read through the docs and understood what I'm using.

It's like solving a jigsaw puzzle; you always start building the outline, before you even move onto the actual picture.

Conclusion

It might be obvious that we should always be prepared for what we are working on, but we tend to ignore the fact due to our own pride/laziness. That we can pick up on things later on, and we don't need to learn everything as of right now.

Top comments (0)