DEV Community

Ririio
Ririio

Posted on

Things don't always go as planned

Progress

When I planned on what I was going to be doing with the code, I overestimated my capabilities, and promise that I will be adding 'factorial'. Not reading through the code much more thoroughly than I should have, I promised that I was going to manage adding this new functionality in due time. However, as I finished my first pull request, I start to realize that it wasn't possible. By adding this new feature, I would have to add new files dedicated specifically in handling factoring.

The program works as follow

  1. There are two values, and these two values will be merged with an operation (+, -, *, /)
  2. Once all values are added, it will then produce an 'answer', and check if the answer given is the same one that the user provides

The problem with factoring is that, there aren't multiple digits to add. It's a compilation of digits, numbers, and symbols for one answer, and the code is not built to function as such. Therefore, when creating the last pull request, I could not think of a way to make this work, other than restructuring the entire code, which with my current skills I'm unable to do so.

Learning Experience

The plan that you start after being assigned an issue will not always go the way you want it to. As you make more progress, issues starts to pop up that you don't even notice from the start. The implementation that you didn't think would take a long time would, and bugs that you don't expect will occur. I did not consider the possibilities of the any issues that might occur when I wrote my plan on my first week. I did not even consider the absurdity of my feature when I was writing my blog. It just never came across in my head the sheer amount of work that has to be put in until I actually wrote my code. For future request, I need to start thinking more about each step that I will take when writing my code, as to leaving my progress to mere predictions.

Interaction With the Owner

When writing in my issue, I tried to understand what the focus is of the repository. When that was done, I sent my issue, and thankfully the owner accepted it, and gave me the green light to work with adding features.


Repository - BattleMath

Top comments (0)