DEV Community

Ririio
Ririio

Posted on

Working with telescope

I haven't worked with a large repository of any sort before, and I don't think my skills are great enough to actually add anything to it. What I learned from working with any repositories, is that contributors tend to overlook the most basic problems due to their focus much more bigger issues. Therefore, when I worked with telescope I decided to locate for any existing errors that might have been overlooked by everyone. I was a bit pressed for what I can do simply because the 'sign-up' doesn't seem to be working properly with my repository regardless of how much time I spent trying to fix it.

I found an error that was overlooked by everyone, due to its simplicity. When clicking on the 'About Us' it doesn't link to the code dependecies, but instead link to a publicized version of the doc, as seen on the image below

Image description

The issue was simple, thus I did not struggle in terms of what I am able to do. However, the problem starts to appear when I tried to send a pull request. The first issue derives from not following the linter convention that was established from the repository. This was a simple fixed, because it sends an error in the CI where the problem originated from, and the last problem occurs from sending a merge as to a rebase. This took me a bit to understand, and I finally realized that I was doing the rebase from my master instead of the intended issue branch that I have posted.

Overall, working with large repository is overwhelming, but there will always be an issue that any beginner developer such as myself are able to do due to the tendencies of our senior developers to only focus on the large scale problems.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
mnosov622 profile image
Maxim Nosov ✪

Thank you for sharing @ririio. It was very interesting to read :)