DEV Community

Cover image for Self Introduction
"Rocky" Hiroki Ueno
"Rocky" Hiroki Ueno

Posted on

Self Introduction

About me

I'm Rocky from Japan. I majored in International politics and relationship in university. While I was in my university, I went to Melbourne, Australia to study English and lived there for 6 months. After graduation, I worked for a software company in Japan as back-end engineer. I used html/css, javascript, Vue.js in front-end, and Java, C#, php in back-end. Now I'm in a college with the course of web development in Vancouver.

I like traveling and I've been to 16 countries such as Korea, Thailand, Turkey, the US, etc. I haven't been to Latin countries and now I really want to visit there.
Also, I like to play games. I like to play Nintendo Switch and play Pokemon, Mario Bros, Splatoon and so on.

The reason why I came to Vancouver is because I'd like to get a job and live here in Canada. Living in other country is my dream from my childhood and I was fascinated by Canada because of its "Mixed culture." I'd like to improve myself to be an engineer.

First week of my course has finished. Here is the review.

My expectation for this course

I'd like to get skills for front-end engineers. I worked as a back-end engineer in Japan and have some knowledge. Therefore, I'd like to brush up my skills and learn languages, frameworks and any others skills which are widely used in Canada.

How was my experience with this course

I think this environment is what I want. My teacher and classmates are nice guys. And I can learn engineering in English. I hope I have a good time with this course.

What I want to achieve after this course

My goal is working as a front-end engineer in a company in Canada. I'd like to learn a lot from this course and become an engineer who can make money for companies.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
ashleyd480 profile image
Ashley D

Love to see this! That sounds so fun that you have visited so many different places and so cool that you are now diving into the front-end. I can tell that you are a very passionately curious person who loves to explore new realms whether it be through travel or in coding. 💖 Cheering you on @rockyueno0223

Collapse
 
ezekiel_77 profile image
Ezekiel

Its always impressive to hear an International Politics major being a very good coder⚡ Wishing you the best ⭐

Collapse
 
kazuchikayanagi profile image
KazuchikaYanagi

I didn't know that you like to play games, haha.
Also your strong passion for Canada is impressive for me!
I am glad to see you such a person having high motivation😀

Collapse
 
hamachooo25 profile image
Yuta Hamasaki

I am surprised that you have the same major in University! Wow! Let's do our best to achieve our goals! Teach me when I have problem on backend please haha