DEV Community

Rohan Kaicker
Rohan Kaicker

Posted on

OSD600 Lab 6

For our 6th lab we were asked to take a look at Docusaurus, and try to implement one of its features.

Docusaurus is essentially a tool that developers can use to create aesthetically pleasing documentation, without worrying too much about building a website from scratch.

In their own words, one of their goals was "To put the focus on writing good documentation instead of worrying about the infrastructure of a website".

Honestly, it was relatively easy to get a Docusaurus site built up from scratch. Mine can be found here.

I decided to implement the "Sidebar"/ table of contents feature. Admittedly, I got a little busy in my personal life and wasn't able to dedicate too much time to this, so it's more of a proof of concept right now. But I did manage to get it working, in that my tool is able to generate a complete working table of contents based on the input folder that is selected.

The commit for this feature can be found here.

I definitely haven't been able to make this tool as good I want to, but I think I'll be able to improve it in the upcoming weeks.

Top comments (0)