DEV Community

Rohan Kaicker
Rohan Kaicker

Posted on

Final Hacktoberfest PR

For my last Hacktoberfest PR, I was actually reached out to by a repo maintainer on my previous blog post.

Basically, this project aims to essentially allow people to create local documentation sites for various popular frameworks/ libraries. Essentially the project acts as a repository of scripts that users can copy and paste to create a fully functioning static site of their documentation (sort of related to our course project where we are developing a static site generator).

Naveen (the project maintainer), saw that I had gained some experience using Electron from working on the Video Hub App, and asked if I'd like to contribute a script to get a local version of the Electron documentation.

I thought this would be a nice way for me to get familiar with how documentation sites are built. I immediately learned that Electron's documentation site was built using Docusaurus (which we'd later end up learning about in our course).

I was able to learn how to built up a local copy of the site with just a small script, and was succesfully able to contribute to the repo!

Issue: https://github.com/naveennamani/offline-docs/issues/2

PR: https://github.com/naveennamani/offline-docs/pull/14

Top comments (0)