DEV Community

Rohan Kaicker
Rohan Kaicker

Posted on

Hacktoberfest Conclusion

To recap, for the month of October, our class participated in Hacktoberfest. This was my absolute first time contributing in open-source projects.

Admittedly, I was extremely nervous and stressed going into this month. I had no idea what to expect in terms of project difficulty, how responsive repo maintainers are, and what the open-source community is like.

To be honest, it also took me quite a long time to find issues/ projects that I found interesting. I was scouring the recommended sites such as Awesome for Beginners, and Up for Grabs, and also just going through Repos/ Issues marked with the "Hacktoberfest" label.

Eventually, for my first Issue, I came across the Video Hub App repo. Where I was able to work with technologies such as TypeScript and Electron, which I knew very little about. It took a little while, but I was able to successfully complete a feature that allowed users to filter out specific folders. This was a great experience because I was able to see how professional projects are organized, and the maintainer was very responsive.

After this I really hit the ball rolling and was able to find more issues to work on. One thing that I enjoyed was that all of my PRs were drastically different from each other. I worked on correcting documentation for AdonisJS, fixed a HTTP Content-Type Header bug in tiny-http, and then finally even created a short script for users to load up their own local version of the Electron documentation site.

I think I can confidently say I learned more about open source and Git/ Github in the last month, than I have in the past 16 months that I have spent in this program. Creating branches for issues, submitting pull requests, merging, and rebasing branches were all very new to me, and I am so happy that I enrolled in this course before I graduated!

Top comments (0)