DEV Community

Wild League
Wild League

Posted on

[Wild League] why ActivityPub?

If you don't know what Wild League is, please take a look into my first post, but in resume is a RTS Game that I'm trying to build on top of activitypub protocol for federation, aiming that players can create their own servers and still play together across different servers.

What's ActivityPub

First of all, if you don't know what is that, I'll try sum up a little:

It's a decentralized social networking protocol.

It basically define Users as Actors, Posts as Notes and everything else as Activities (Follow requests, Add, Remove, Block, etc).

Everyone has a /inbox to receive posts and activities,
and a /outbox to share posts/activities.

Why use that for a game?

I know that AP (activityPub) it's not the best choice for this use case, but it also provides a generic interface that I can customize for my needs, since I can extend the base objects.

Also, publishing a game is hard, so I chose to create a game that at least will have a chance to connect to the world (other federated social networks like Mastodon, Pleroma, and now even Threads from Meta).

That's it

Don't forget to follow us and join the waitlist ;)


The game is open source ;) github

You can reach me on
Twitter: https://twitter.com/_wildleague
Subscribe to our waitlist: https://wildleague.org

Top comments (0)