DEV Community

Ross Summerell
Ross Summerell

Posted on

Javascript App Advice

Hey guys,

Really enjoy dev.to thank you!

I am a novice programmer, I have C# SQL Javascript experience, but in this past year have improved my javascript knowledge tenfold.

I've been working with and really enjoy Polymer 2, then 3 and now dabbing in a little Lit-html.
However, I am taking a break from the main app, I am planning to build a dashboard PWA for a client.

I can't really find the sufficient tooling in Polymer/webcomponents at the moment to build a 'Wow' dashboard so I am going to be looking at probably some Javacript frameworks.

I haven't ever used any before and wanted to ask for suggestions on what to look at first. I want to use purely Javascript as that is my strong point.

I would also welcome any comments on my approach using Polymer/webcomponents for building my main app, as sometimes I feel like I may have taken the wrong path down a cross road.

Educate someone who feels like he is living under a rock, and doesn't know which way to tunnel.

TIA!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
jaakidup profile image
Jaaki • Edited

Hi Ross

So let me tell you.

I started with Polymer, mostly 2 then 3 and been using it for maybe 2 years now, because web components are really cool right.

My experience with it was basically the same as yours.
It's a constant struggle, as you have to really do everything yourself.
I also never felt comfortable with the end results.

I'm not the greatest at doing all the styling/css magic and I can really appreciate a little help from a framework. That way I can concentrate more on doing what needs to be done, rather than making it look right or work.

So much so that I decided that I won't use it again.

My choice is now Vue.

It will very quickly feel comfortable for you working with Vue as it's very similar to Polymer. (I think Vue is what Polymer could've and should've been)
There is a great community involved with Vue and a great many tools and frameworks, big and small. It feels like a great big weight has been lifted from my shoulders.

There are of-course other options like Angular and react etc. but I feel they are favoured more by larger corporations, mostly because of the backing and not at all about the developer experience.

All this being said and done, I feel that starting with Polymer taught me a lot, but I'm ready to play with the big boy toys now :D

Happy Coding

Collapse
 
allison_seboldt profile image
Allison Seboldt

I second Vue! It's the perfect balance of features without sacrificing simplicity!