DEV Community

Rudy Chung
Rudy Chung

Posted on • Updated on

My Third Hacktoberfest PR

What I Worked On

I merged my third Hacktoberfest PR once again on reddit-image-viewer. This time my PR was much more simple, but due to the competitiveness of finding good Hacktoberfest issues as well as this issue being related to my previous one I decided to work on it. The issue was that videos lacked a method to view the original reddit post, since clicking a video would play/pause that video rather than with an image where clicking it would link to the original post.

My Contribution

My PR was relatively simple compared to my previous one, I had to add links to each post under each video, as well as each image for consistency.
All posts now have titles linked to their original post.
To retrieve the links, I had to work with the components already built. These components worked with the reddit API retrieving data about reddit posts. I had to get the title of the post and hyperlink it to the page where the original link was. While this PR was relatively simple, it gave me a chance to gain some understanding and practice using the reddit API.

Top comments (0)