DEV Community

Ryoichi Homma
Ryoichi Homma

Posted on • Updated on

Seeking Guidance: Full-Stack Developer vs. Software Engineer in the Age of AI

As the latest computer science graduate, I find myself at a crossroads. The rapid advancements in artificial intelligence (AI) are reshaping the tech industry, and I am concerned about the potential impact on my career. I am currently contemplating whether to pursue a role as a full-stack developer or a software engineer.

My Background:

I'm a recent CS graduate from Thompson Rivers University in BC, Canada. I have a strong passion for full-stack development. My goal in the future is to work at Driveline Baseball, where not only baseball coaches but also developers, software engineers, data analysts, and data scientists analyze the amount of data in baseball to help baseball players from technological, biological, and scientific approaches.

The Dilemma:

With AI becoming increasingly capable, I am worried about the longevity and relevance of different tech roles. I want to choose a career path that not only aligns with my interests but also ensures that I won't be easily replaced by AI in the future.

Seeking Your Insights:

If you were in my shoes as a recent CS graduate, which role would you choose and why? Do you believe a full-stack developer or a software engineer role offers better prospects in the AI-driven future? Your professional insights and experiences would be invaluable in helping me make an informed decision.

Key Points for Discussion:

  • The impact of AI on full-stack development vs. software engineering.
  • The future demand for full-stack developers and software engineers.
  • Skills and areas to focus on to remain relevant in the tech industry.
  • Personal experiences and advice for a new graduate navigating this landscape.

I greatly appreciate your time and look forward to hearing your thoughts and advice. Your feedback will not only help me but also others in the community who might be facing similar dilemmas.

Thank you!

Top comments (0)