DEV Community

Saalik Lokhandwala
Saalik Lokhandwala

Posted on

In the market for a new laptop! Ideas?

Mo' Computers Mo' Problems 💻

I'm looking to scale back how many devices I use. Currently I have a 2015 Macbook Air, which has slowed down considerably, and doesn't have enough RAM to keep up with running local servers, Sketch/Figma, VSCode, Chrome and Firefox open at once.

My solution to that has been running Linux on an old laptop which is basically a brick with no battery life (so a desktop replacement). It's been annoying to split my time between the two, since it feels like a waste of two machines that could be used by everyday users.

To that effect, I'd like to give away or sell my current computers and replace it with a new one that fits the right criteria.

I'm a React developer who's messing with backend stuff in Python, plus I do some light design work.

Here's what I'm looking for in my next workstation:

  • Runs OSX or Linux (which basically means any computer works)
  • HD Screen (Retina or 1080p)
  • Good quality touchpad for design work
  • 16gb of RAM
  • Decent battery life
  • 256GB SSD or better
  • i7 processor
  • Portable

Some options I was looking at:

  • Dell XPS 15
  • Macbook Pro 15
  • The new Macbook Air
  • LG Gram

What's your workstation like? ❓

If you've tried any of the above, what do you like/dislike about them?

Let's chat in the comments below! 👇

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

What if you add 16 GB of RAM and a SSD to your computer? Is that doable?

The new Macbook Air seems the perfect mobile Mac, I'm not sure how powerful the CPU is though, we probably need to wait for some users to review it. Let's talk numbers:

  • Macbook Air with that configuration is 1599$ (but it's an i5 and has a 13" screen)
  • Macbook Pro 13 is at least 1699$ but you get a faster CPU (2.3Ghz dual core i5 instead of 1.6Ghz dual core i5)
  • Macbook Pro 15 is at least 2399$ with 2.2Ghz 6 cores i7 and a dedicated graphics card
  • Dell XPS 15 is 1699$ with 6 cores i7 and 512 GB of SSD instead of 256

So, if you don't really care about the OS and you verify that Linux works on the XPS maybe that's a possible winner. I haven't checked the weights but I think the Dell weighs a little more than the other ones. I have no experience with LG laptops, I didn't even know they made laptops :D

Collapse
 
saaliklok profile image
Saalik Lokhandwala

Unfortunately I can't upgrade my RAM on the Macbook Air 😔

And yeah thanks for that breakdown, that's super helpful! It seems like the XPS would be the best bang for the buck, so I might go to a store just to see how it feels.

That Macbook Air looks super nice though... I wonder if they'll put in on sale for Black Friday? 🤔 That's probably just me being overly optimistic haha

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Unfortunately I can't upgrade my RAM on the Macbook Air 😔

Yeah, I dread the day my 2012 Macbook Pro will sing its swan song

That Macbook Air looks super nice though... I wonder if they'll put in on sale for Black Friday? 🤔 That's probably just me being overly optimistic haha

Ahah it came out yesterday, I think you're dreaming :P

Collapse
 
tux0r profile image
tux0r

Why not Windows? It comes with new computers anyway.

I don't know your budget, but I've been eyeing the Toshiba Tecra and the HP ZBook series for a while (before I decided that a ROG gaming laptop was just fine for my developer needs).

Collapse
 
saaliklok profile image
Saalik Lokhandwala

Unfortunately, I've had experiences with sloooowww Windows computers, and honestly love a Unix based OS for web development. But if whatever I get has enough storage space, it might make sense to dual boot! Windows definitely has some benefits (Unity, games, etc.)

And oooh I'll check those out, thanks!

Collapse
 
tux0r profile image
tux0r

Linux is not Unix-based though. Tried BSD or Solaris?

Thread Thread
 
saaliklok profile image
Saalik Lokhandwala

Fair, it's a Unix clone though. Nah, but I should check them out. Mostly comfortable on Ubuntu based distros. (Using Elementary OS right now when I'm at home and don't have to use my Mac)

Thread Thread
 
tux0r profile image
tux0r • Edited

Mostly comfortable on Ubuntu based distros.

OpenIndiana (a desktop Solaris distribution) could be for you.

Collapse
 
brendan_c profile image
Brendan-C

(one of) my dream machine(s) is the ThinkPad X1 Carbon

Collapse
 
lordhasyim profile image
ahmadhasyim

Im using thinkpad t450s 8gig ram... Try look at thinkpad

Collapse
 
mihirkumar profile image
Mihir Kumar

Huawei Matebook X Pro. It's the only laptop I would buy right now.