DEV Community

saboor
saboor

Posted on

Electron JS

Hi everyone, It's been four years that I'm working with java and java swing, it looks like using java swing has drastically reduced in big companies, now I'm looking forward to enhance my GUI knowledge with Electron what do you think? suggest me if there is more usable GUI with different language.
Share your experience if you are an Electron developer, and please put some Electron pdf link, website, and other resources.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt

If you need Webview, Electron might be the best.

There is also JxBrowser and CefJava, where I haven't really tried.

Otherwise, try Qt, or JavaFx.

If you don't want to bundle Webview (which you should), try Golang's webview/webview.

Collapse
 
saboorhamedi profile image
saboor

Thank you for you reply! I would definitely search about Webview, and JXBrowser, but frankly I'm impressed with Electron as big companies using it. Do you have any pdf book, or website to learn Electron?

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt • Edited

idk, but indeed, if I had to recommend, I would say Electron, as its API is very deep (at least IMO).

Basics would be Documentation | Electron. I was into setting up web server inside Electron in the past, but now I should care more about security.

Thread Thread
 
saboorhamedi profile image
saboor

OKAY, I gone through the documentation, but for a beginner this documentation is so hard to understand. And there is one PDF book in the entire google I found which is same as documentation.