DEV Community

salcasta
salcasta

Posted on

My Initial Thoughts On Sinatra

As of this writing I have completed the Omnicalc1 assignment and wanted to share my initial thoughts on Sinatra.

Before DPI's Tech Prep began I was hoping the programming language used in the course was going to be JavaScript. I am familiar with JavaScript and knew it was the most popular language and was the most in demand language for job seekers.

Much to my dismay once I found out it was going to be Ruby I was upset. I felt it was better to stick to one programming language.

Boy was I wrong!!!

Ruby has been a blessing in disguise. Ruby makes a lot of things way easier than JavaScript like looping through arrays. Once I began the Sinatra module I saw the true power of Ruby.

Gems

I have only scratched the surface with the gems available, but I am already impressed with the BetterError gem. It makes coding a lot easier when an error is displayed in an easy to understand message.

The ease of downloading a gem as well as all the dependencies it requires with the command bundle install is truly amazing!

Routing and Layouts

Sinatra truly makes routing your website an effortless process. That is not even factoring the fact that dynamic routing is easy to do with Sinatra. A general layout is so simple to implement with a views folder and layout.erb file. Separating the HTML and Ruby and linking them together with erb files is done with ease.

I can't wait to learn more about Sinatra and the other gems available. Moving forward I am going to continue with Ruby and seek jobs that require Ruby experience. Hopefully I will be admitted to the apprenticeship program and be paid to learn Ruby. I am extremely excited for that opportunity.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
samuellubliner profile image
Samuel Lubliner

I can relate because at first I was hoping to learn JS and now I am really enjoying learning Ruby! I like that Ruby prioritizes developer happiness :)