DEV Community

SalladShooter
SalladShooter

Posted on

New Here, What to Do?

So I am new to Dev.to, and I wanted to know what kinds of things should I know or do on this platform?

I like Web Development (graphic design and programming portions) and I like to make mostly small projects, but I am working on building and maintaining an open source Python Web Framework named PHYAL -> https://github.com/SalladShooter/PHYAL

If you have any more questions feel free to ask!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
helioobianchi profile image
Helio de Oliveira Bianchi • Edited

Is your framework beginner-friendly? I mean, I'm studying Javascript right now and I'm also interested in learning Python. If I wanted to try learning both at the same time (or include Python after I learn the basics of JS), would your framework help me? Like if I wanted to build a portfolio page or a blog, would it make the experience of learning to implement a backend for it less about the framework and more about Python?
(consider I won't get to Python right now, so you'll probably have implemented more things to it)

Collapse
 
salladshooter profile image
SalladShooter

Thanks for your question!

  1. It’s not completely beginner friendly, and you probably need some bits of knowledge to use it, before trying out my framework I would recommend playing around with Flask to get a feel for something familiar.
  2. It should make things easy to implement while also seamlessly having a backend there when needed.
  3. Yeah, it’s probably a good idea for you to hold off a little while on starting Python to learn my framework, as I need to add a lot more things to make it actually useable by people.