DEV Community

Sam Turner
Sam Turner

Posted on

Simple Python Hangman Game

Transitioning in my career

I'm reviewing Python as I transition to a Data Science career, after a previous career in Software Engineering (relevant) and Program Management consulting (not very relevant). As part of this experience, I'm taking courses from CodingNomads to review this content, and created a simple Hangman game.

Lessons learned with Python:

  1. The enumerate() function probably requires a newer version of Python or something, as the Stack Overflow recommendation on creating a list of indices from a character in a string did not work for me, despite the near-exact replication of their suggested implementation. Or maybe there's a quirk I'm not realizing. Honestly, knowing software engineering, that's probably the issue.

  2. Pseudocode is critical, and I'm going to guess that a lot of programmers don't engage in it to the extent they should. Hence, the terrible code we have to deal with 1/5/10/20 years later. Not that I'm perfect at it either.

  3. Work is so much more motivating when you do something that you're good at. I'm so tired of going after the shiny new object. I'd rather rub off the grime from an object I have than try to chase after the elusive diamond in the ruff. Work with what you have and who you are, rather than you what you think the world pays the most.

Top comments (0)