DEV Community

Samuel Buzas
Samuel Buzas

Posted on

Ask Dev: What tools do you use for designing and planning software?

What do you do when you start planning a new project or a major new feature? Do you simply start coding or do you draft some design documents (Class Diagrams, Database Designs, Use Case Diagrams, Component Diagrams etc.)?

I usually start with class diagrams to try and understand my resources and their relations. Then I'll move on to flowcharts of uses cases.I'll admit that this isn't very comprehensive, but I'm never sure what to do when planning. I do all this using google draw, which feels horribly inefficient and cumbersome.

So my questions for the software engineers of dev.to is this:

What best practices do you recommend when planning new software?

What tools do you use for designing and planing software?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
samwisebuze profile image
Samuel Buzas • Edited

Thank you for sharing!! I've seen software architects use the C4 model before and it seemed like a very useful way to organize from the 30,000 ft view.

Would you consider UML and other low-level diagrams useful for documentation?