DEV Community

Saral Karki
Saral Karki

Posted on

This is my blog

alt text

Finally, after weeks of learning and working on the personal blog, I can say it has now taken a shape that I am satisfied with. There is still a lot of work needed to be done especially with the styling of the blog, however, overall I think I have got the features I wanted to add. So what features are integrated within my personal blog

  1. User Authentication:
    For user authentication, I used the 'bcrypt' gem. Though in my other projects I have used the 'Devise gem', this being my project, I chose to use bcrypt. Also, user authentication wasn't a feature that I absolutely required in this project, because it is a personal blog, and I am guessing the only person uploading here will be me.
    Here's how I went about getting bcrypt to work on the blog.

  2. Markdown:
    For my blog I wanted to be able to enter the text as I do on Dev. Therefore, I went about finding how I could implement markdown on the blog. Also, I have no idea a thing called 'Rich text editor' existed. Had I known this, I would probably have gone and tried using a rich text editor instead. My ignorance was a blessing in disguise as now I am equipped with knowledge on how to implement both markdown and rich text editor.
    Here is how I implemented the markdown

  3. Bootstrap and Font-awesome:
    Next up, I wanted to use bootstrap and for this, I followed the instructions provided on the bootstrap gem homepage. I also used the font-awesome icons to style the icons. Again, the Font-awesome gem page came in handy whilst implementing the FA icons.

  4. Pagination:
    For pagination I used the will_paginate gem. Here's my implementation of the gem on the blog.

  5. Paperclip:
    Finally, for adding images to the blog posts I used the paperclip gem. I was able to get the gem working on localhost, however, I soon encountered an issue on Heroku. The images looked to be stored on my database but every time I refreshed the images would disappear. It was then that I learnt, that Heroku wouldn't store my images, and therefore I would have to store my images elsewhere. The recommended platform was AWS.

Now I embark on my next goal to get the images on AWS.

Top comments (0)