DEV Community

Cover image for "I" or "we"?
Stephan Arenswald
Stephan Arenswald

Posted on

"I" or "we"?

Hi all. Building a startup as a solo founder, I constantly come across the same question. Shall I use "I" or "we" when talking about the product?

Some examples:

  • On the landing page, I would like the customers to follow the products' Twitter channel. Do I say "Follow Us" or "Follow me"?
  • On Twitter, I want to ask others to join our Beta program. Do I motivate them in saying "Come join us on our journey" or "Come join me on my journey"
  • ... (I think you get the idea)

If I say "us", then I have the feeling that I generate some impression of a grown startup/company. So it feels like not being honest. If I use "I", there is immediately the impression that this is just some hobby developer trying to make money. This is not the case.

What do you think?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
elmuerte profile image
Michiel Hendriks

It's best to avoid pronouns when you talk about the product.

When you talk about the company org team, use "we" and "us", because company/team implies a group. A group of the size 1 is still a group.

Also, do you really want to waste time rewriting text when you go from a group size of 1 to 2?

PS, "Come join us on our journey" or "Come join me on my journey" is a major difference towards the user. The "our" implies you make the user an active participant of the journey you are going to make. "join me on my journey" makes them an inactive observer, you don't include the user.