DEV Community

Seog-Jun Hong
Seog-Jun Hong

Posted on

2023 Hacktoberfest Recap

Finally, I successfully finished Hacktoberfest, and it was a really good experience to learn how open-source projects are created and contributed. In the first week, I had lots of concerns and worried about how to contribute to open-source projects because I'm just junior-level and I thought there was nothing to fix from my end. However, I searched the issue with a couple of labels like good first issue or Hacktoberfest and I easily found simple issues like dealing with Typo in Readme.md,Installing Prettier and Linting.

I tried to fix simple issues from the project, and when I created the first PR, I felt a sense of accomplishment and I became confident in open-source projects. After that, I gradually looked for more complicated projects and harder issues that I could handle. During the Hacktoberfest I found two interesting projects, those are written in typescript that I got interested in.

One is Codu and this is a kind of web platform for coders and people can share articles and their thoughts. There are over 50 contributors on the project, and the author responds quickly and there's Discord channel for the project. I already contributed twice, and working on another issue for now. This project is not that small not that complicated, and it's a good chance to learn typescript and Next.js together.

Another is MoveX and this is serverless real-time data-sharing infrastructure for frontend developers. This project has 27 contributors and I already contributed to the project twice, and keep an eye on issue sections to solve issues. I haven't really looked into the project in detail, but I guess this project is also written in typescript and I see there are lots of things to learn from the project.

Even though Hacktoberfest is done, I really got interested into open-source projects and I'll keep contributing to those projects whenever I'm available. And this is my updated github profile, feel free to reach out to me and please follow me!

Top comments (0)