DEV Community

Shailen Naidoo
Shailen Naidoo

Posted on

Rewrites are a symptom of bad initial engineering

I was prone to this problem at the beginning of my career, I would want to rewrite everything from the ground-up if I got this chance or I felt that the initial implementation did not "scale" well.

As I progressed in my career I started to realize that rewriting your application is a symptom of bad initial engineering. The application was not thought from a systems design perspective and the use of SOLID and other principles allows you to manage application code better in a system that is ever-changing.

If you come to a point where you need to rewrite an application then it just means that you did not spend the necessary time to design the foundation of the system which takes into consideration ever-changing business requirements.

Top comments (0)