DEV Community

Cover image for I’ve fucked up in an interview
shrey vijayvargiya
shrey vijayvargiya

Posted on

I’ve fucked up in an interview

Meesho interview round 1, I’ve literally fucked up in an interview

Under the Hood
Last week, when I was interviewing in coinbase, I got an interview request from meesho. I have the time slot available so I thought of giving an interview in messho. But I fucked up in 2 questions, I mean I was asked only 2 questions and didn’t even able to complete it.

Questions
2 questions were asked -

  • Create your own groupBy function just like lodash
  • Create your custom Promise.all method

Yes, those were the 2 questions and I was accorded one hour to complete them. I don’t know what happened to my mind then back during the interview that first question took more than 20 minutes and then also I’ve been only able to complete 95% of it. And the second question again took more than the expected time and I’ve only been able to complete 90% of it.

Interview Level
Both the questions were quite simple, I mean, if you give thought right now you might be able to find them. But the first question took so much time, more than expected and I wasn’t prepared for it.

Problem
Suddenly after the first 10 minutes, my mind stopped working, I couldn’t think of a solution to the problem. Probably because I have already given an interview before this one just a few hours back and even after this interview I’ve to give one more interview in Coinbase. So things become quite complicated or cumbersome that my mind stopped working in the middle of the interview 😁😂.

The situation become so bad that I stopped in the middle of the interview and told the interviewer that I am not able to think and that whatever I know is not helpful and not helping me to solve the problem.

The interviewer was very kind he ask me what to do then next and luckily I take a deep breath and start solving the problem again. After 10–20 minutes I am starting to find the way and am able to complete the problem up to 90%.

Takeaways
Although this kind of situation should not occur I am glad that I’ve handled it a bit more peaceful and didn’t get too panicked. My decision to try to keep trying was good, although I’ve struggled a lot even after that at the end I was very close to solving the problem. In fact, I’ve solved the problem if more time was given😁.

Never mind, things like these will happen, all we can do is be calm before the interview and during the interview.

My suggestion is to take a deep breath during those tough, high pressure and nervous situations just like Ronaldo did before taking free-kicks.

Conclusion
I’ve already added the questions so you can practise them in future. Please don’t forget to follow and until next time, have a good day, people.

Our website iHateReading || Youtube || Twitter

Top comments (0)