DEV Community

Shrijith Venkatramana
Shrijith Venkatramana

Posted on

How I Built a Great Team Culture using First Principles (No Gimmicks)

Image description

Do you want to build a team culture that you can be proud of?

*If yes, you are in the right place. *

My system will help you build the team culture you aspire for.

Team culture means two things:

First, the way in which the team faces challenges together.

Second, what does the team aspire for, where it wants to be in the future.

That is, culture = team capabilities + team aspirations.

The right culture leads to high performance, productivity and profits (longitudinal studies prove the relation).

Not to mention, great culture is also great fun, and encourages people to stay longer with the org.

3 years ago, I started building Hexmos, and immediately was faced with the enormous problem of culture.

When I started building Hexmos, one thing was clear to me.

I needed a very particular type of team.

I wanted a group of responsible, committed, forward-looking, self-initiating, rugged and tough leaders

I wanted them to care equally about principles, people, technical and market factors.

I wanted a team that’ll never get fazed, no matter

  • How big the challenge is
  • How long it may take
  • How many new initiatives it may require
  • How deteriorated the environment is

I wanted to build an ever-marching, ever-awake, and ever-focused team.

A team that will never say never, regardless of adversity or external conditions.

And most importantly, I wanted these leaders to create other leaders.

If that isn’t a tall ask, I don’t know what is.

When the above qualities are itemised, very few people fit the bill.

After about 3 years of rigorous efforts and experimentation, I am happy to say, I am grateful to work with such a team.

I am proud of the direction, intensity, consistency and commitment of my team.

Although we are small and just getting started, I can already feel the enthusiasm and power of the people I’m working with every single day.

Without any doubts, I am proud of my team.

Anyway, this post is not about me or my team.

Based on my learnings, I will help you build a team culture you can be proud of.

You may need to build a totally different type of team.

But the process I share with you here, will be mostly applicable regardless.

Will that be of value to you? Yes?

Alright, onto the process then.

Read more here

Top comments (0)