DEV Community

Cover image for My Top 10 Metal Tracks For Joyful Coding
Simon Holdorf
Simon Holdorf

Posted on

My Top 10 Metal Tracks For Joyful Coding

For me as a programmer and human being, music and coding go hand in hand. Even if we often times need to have conversations and talk to co-workers I can put my best game on with my headphones and some great tracks to listen to. Sometimes I need slow, atmospheric music to calm down, sometimes fast music to cheer me up. In this post I will show you my top 10 Metal tracks that always help me to get into flow and write high quality code. Maybe this will turn out into a series of posts for others genres as well.
Sidenote: These tracks are not necessarily what one would call mainstream but some gems I found one after another.

Cyhra - Karma

Orden Ogen - Fields Of Sorrow

Sabaton - 82nd all the way

Ghost - Dance Macabre

Brothers of Metal - Prophecy of Ragnarök

Dragonforce - The Last Journey Home

Gloryhammer - Universe On Fire

Dynazty - Breathe with Me

Beast in Black - Blind and Frozen

Battle Beast - Beyond the Burning Skies

I would love to hear what you are listening to while coding, so please leave a comment and also follow me for more upcoming posts.

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
ewoks profile image
Beeblebrox

no Iron Maiden, Megadeth ?! :/

Collapse
 
simonholdorf profile image
Simon Holdorf

Oh I like them as well :)

Collapse
 
ahferroin7 profile image
Austin S. Hemmelgarn

Personal favorites here for coding include:

Rhapsody of Fire - The Wizard's Last Rhymes

Sabaton - The Red Baron

Falconer - Mindtraveller

Turisas - Rasputin

Twilight Force - Battle of Arcane Might

My full mix is currently just short of 55 hours though, mostly European power metal similar to the above, with a bit of chiptune, techno, and recently some jpop mixed in as well.

Collapse
 
alexparra profile image
Alex Parra

For me it’s classics: Metallica, Rage Against the Machine, System of a Down, Sepultura, ... 🤪

Collapse
 
uptheirons78 profile image
Mauro Bono

Awesome post and great songs! These days for me are a full immersion with the new Tool album "Fear Inoculum". Nice to see I'm not the only metalhead in coding 😉 Always Up The Irons!

Collapse
 
ghost profile image
Ghost

Well, Tool is good for any occasion.

Collapse
 
mwiesbau profile image
Mathias Wiesbauer

InFlames, melodic death
Metal keeps me energized

Collapse
 
bak3y profile image
Bak3y

I can’t listen to anything with lyrics while coding it gets too distracting. I also tend to gravitate towards EDM as a result.

Collapse
 
ghost profile image
Ghost • Edited

Try Shylmagoghnar mainly from the album Emergence, Be'lakor, Theatre of Tragedy and Eluveitie (I don't understand the lyrics of them anyway). And Dream Theater, I don't particularly enjoy them but maybe you do.

Collapse
 
codenutt profile image
Jared

There is a few "metal-ish" tracks in here. Sans lyrics.