DEV Community

Simon Toledano
Simon Toledano

Posted on

Slaying the Ruby Gym Godzilla

Ruby Gym was the definition of delayed gratification. At first, taking on each exercise was challenging and frustrating to be honest, but I tried to carve out a chunk of time each day to chip away it. At the Leap Year exercise, I felt stuck for some time but decided to walk away from it and sure enough the following day it took me 10 minutes to wrap my head around how I wanted to finish my code. I think at the Secret Encoder exercise I finally felt like I was "getting it". I realized writing code is feeling so much more gratifying with a couple of wins under my belt. I am definitely feeling more confident each day. Here are some big takeaways from completing the Ruby Gym module:

  1. The .each method is super helpful to access objects within an array and apply some action/block of code to each item. It really is a powerful method that I will use with large collections of data.

  2. The .gsub method is my best friend. No, but in all seriousness, it is super helpful for reformatting characters. I will end up using it a lot in the future.

  3. Instead of trying to work hastily and inadvertently make a problem more complicated, remember to break down complex problems into smaller parts (thank God for sticky notes). On a couple of the Ruby Gym exercises I found myself working hastily but not efficiently. I ended up having to work longer and inefficiently since I made mistakes I later needed to clean up within my code.

Altogether, the Ruby Gym exercises were tough but definitely gratifying. I am novice when it comes to this coding game, but I am definitely excited for what the future holds. I will continue to work hard and persevere. Onward and upwards my friends!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Good stuff!

Collapse
 
heratyian profile image
Ian

"break down complex problems into smaller parts" πŸ’―

also write lots of pseudocode comments

# first do THIS
# then do THAT
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

keep it up πŸ’ͺ

Collapse
 
simontoledano profile image
Simon Toledano

Ooh, most definitely. Thanks for the tip, Ian!