DEV Community

Austin Slaughter
Austin Slaughter

Posted on

CS Major advice

Hello all. I’m a CS major transferring from a community college to a major university. This fall will be my junior year and I have absolutely no coding experience, however the love and passion for technology and computers has persisted since a young age. Nevertheless Any advice or suggestions to do well? Or even things I can be doing the rest of this summer to also help prepare will be great. Ty!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
hr21don profile image
Helitha Rupasinghe

Learn the basic concepts of coding first.
Choose the right language.
Pick a language that demonstrates low-level concepts.
Choose a language based on your goals.
Work towards building web applications with your desired language to showcase in your portfolio! << (MOST IMPORTANT)

Collapse
 
slaughter13 profile image
Austin Slaughter

Thank you so much for the response! I followed you in case you don’t mind if I reach out again along my journey!

Collapse
 
hr21don profile image
Helitha Rupasinghe

I would recommend you start with Python: C and Java so that you can get ahead of your first year assignments.