DEV Community

Cover image for From Lab to Code: My Journey with Develop Carolina
SNMeans
SNMeans

Posted on

From Lab to Code: My Journey with Develop Carolina

I can’t believe I’m finally saying this, but I’m starting my apprenticeship with Booz Allen Hamilton in conjunction with Develop Carolina, and it feels like kicking off a brand new chapter in my life. I set out on this journey one year ago hoping to make significant progress within a year not knowing I would reach this point — essentially exceeding my initial goal. With a background in Biochemistry, most of my professional experience has been in healthcare and research. After making the daunting decision not to pursue medical school and instead forge a new path, I committed full force to “breaking into” the tech industry.

While my undergraduate degree did include coursework in biostatistics and general applications programming, there was still so much I did not know. I did a lot of self-study using sites like W3schools and Udemy after spending hours upon hours poring over computer science forums for advice. Eventually, I completed a coding bootcamp centered around Python, Data Structures, and Algorithms. Upon completion of the bootcamp, devoting numerous hours to building projects, creating my portfolio, and even taking on freelance gigs, I felt I was prepared to take the next step. In this case, the next step meant applying for an apprenticeship. The inner critic in the back of my head kept telling me I was not good enough, but I’ve learned to silence and reframe it by telling myself , “I am not good enough yet.”

For me, this experience is more than just training — it’s where raw potential gets shaped into polished skills through mentorship, real-world challenges, and a tight-knit community. Already, I feel a strong sense of community within our cohort. The encouragement is overwhelming, and I am looking forward to seeing how we develop both as people and as a team. After facing a ton of setbacks and hearing “no” more times than I can count, getting a “yes” was a total shock and a huge win. I must admit, I am still in a state of disbelief. Regardless, I am ready to take advantage of every opportunity and fully utilize my analytical and creative skills.

During this apprenticeship, I aim to sharpen my technical skills with a focus in data analytics and engineering. I’m excited to build a strong foundation in Python, R, and SQL, and to tackle projects that require both technical expertise and creative problem-solving. Additionally, I would like to gain a more in-depth understanding of the ins and outs that are involved within the tech industry and develop the skills necessary to serve as a mentor to others. I would love to impart the knowledge that I have gained to other aspiring engineers and developers someday.

I chose DevTo as my blogging platform because of its developer-friendly interface, active community, and great feature. Throughout my apprenticeship, I'll be sharing my weekly progress, thoughts, and observations.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
paul_edozie_99b3b40049434 profile image
Paul Edozie

Thank you.

Collapse
 
snmeans profile image
SNMeans

No problem !