DEV Community

Cover image for Balancing Artistry and Efficiency: My Journey from Design to Web Development
Clarence🐼
Clarence🐼

Posted on

Balancing Artistry and Efficiency: My Journey from Design to Web Development

So… it has been 2 years since I transitioned from design to web development and I have gone from frontend to full stack (without a full-time job) and deep down, I still think and behave like a designer. It’s great but I have seen how it limits me from achieving more. You see, I have been freelancing and I’ve had a habit of taking so much time with products because I have to design the UI first and then the backend and the frontend. That has been my reason but I have come to realize that it’s been that way because the designer in me causes me to obsess over the tiniest detail which shouldn’t be that much of a thing.

You see, I was designing a flyer for my sister when she walked in and saw me manually creating patterns with the pen tool and she said “You are a perfectionist” No, I don’t think I am, I just think the tiniest detail even when not noticed has a way of bringing life to art (Art, not a web application). After she left, I kept thinking about this and thought to apply it to my next project. Lo and behold, I was working on my alma mater’s alumni directory, I designed the UI and built the whole thing while figuring out Firebase and GraphQL in less than 3 weeks all just because I decided to GO! Build, learn, launch and iterate.

“Build, learn, launch, and iterate.”
I have been noticing this as a pattern of behavior for technical founders (that’s the goal). The point is to launch as fast as possible and iterate post-launch, not the other way around and it hasn’t been that way for me. I have always been the guy who obsesses about features, beauty, and perfection. Mind you, this is not necessarily a bad thing, I think it is great to execute good UI, but I also now think that shouldn’t be the initial focus when you’re trying to get things done with speed. Perfectionism can be a double-edged sword. While it's important to pay attention to details and create a polished product, it can also lead to delays and over-engineering. Finding a balance between delivering quality and speed is crucial in the fast-paced world of web development.

You see, I run a small outlet called GreatR Works and what we try to do is help founders build their MVPs as fast as possible and I have been failing at this because, well, I am a perfectionist. You see, Understanding the specific needs of clients is essential. While some projects may require a high level of design and attention to detail, others may prioritize speed and functionality. Being able to adapt to these different requirements is a valuable skill.

From here on out, we build and learn as we go.

Top comments (0)