DEV Community

Cover image for Best Decision I Ever Made Since I Started Coding?
Clarence🐼
Clarence🐼

Posted on

Best Decision I Ever Made Since I Started Coding?

So it's been 2 days since I posted this Rookie Mistake? and honestly, I am wondering why I didn't take this journey from the beginning when I started learning to code. So far, I have faced the "biggest challenges" in css and javascript only to find out that it wasn't that big of a challenge in the first place.

So far, I have learned about fluid typography, basically how to use clamp() in css for responsiveness, I don't fully understand it but I know how to use it (or I now know something like that exists). After trying to centre a div here and there, I no longer have to rack my head to know where to use flex.

My biggest challenge was with responsiveness. I wrote the codes on my 24" monitor and was viewing the live version on my 15" laptop, I had the thought to switch between monitors and I realised I had mobile covered, I had tablets covered and basically my laptop screen. What happens to the 24" monitors and above? at first I tried using media query to find a middle ground but when I zoom out to assume the screen of a wider display, everything got really messy really fast. As I have learned from a lot of developers around, I took a walk and decided to browse through google till I found the fluid layout and fixed layout solution. of course I went with the fixed layout. It supported what I wanted to achieve at the time and also it was easier.

Well, there you have it. The journey so far.

I need a way to connect this series of posts. Anyway, I will be sharing more on the product as I share my progress with you'll thanks for coming.

Please drop your thoughts and advice, it's not been easy. I'd really appreciate that. Thanks

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
soclarence profile image
Clarence🐼

Thank you very much.
I really appreciate honest responses like this.... Half the time I feel like I should know stuff and then super heros like yourself always come up to remind me that I don't have to be a "boss" at everything... thank you very much.

I haven't used media query so much since I posted this, it's been awesome.