DEV Community

Cover image for off the rails!
Rylie Spriggs
Rylie Spriggs

Posted on

off the rails!

Unlike programming, there are no absolute paths in real day to day life. When I finally took my future seriously, I didn't know where to begin or even what I wanted. I couldn't see myself in a 4 year college nor could I see myself doing service jobs for the rest of my life. The one thing I did know is that I love technology and even more so, loved the framework that created it.
As we age, we usually move on from our "why?" phase, but not in my case. I question everything, needing to know all the little details as to why something works. As it sometimes is a curse, it's most definitely a blessing when learning and writing code.
As I embark on this journey, I glance at my sticky note attached to my monitor that says "Rylie, future Software Engineer," knowing that one day I could be programming my favorite video game or a program that could change lives.

Top comments (0)