DEV Community

Allan Setash
Allan Setash

Posted on

Thinking out loud about a dumb side project of mine

I've been thinking about what I want to make after this class at General Assembly, and honestly... I want to make something dumb and fun. I want to make my own Blaseball.

For anyone unaware, Blaseball is, and I quote "an online browser baseball simulation horror game."

That doesn't quite explain it though, I guess. Well, since sports will be on hold with the global pandemic, and since Baseball can be simulated fairly easily with RNG, The Game Band put their own spin on Splorts on the internet. Blaseball is a fictional baseball league with teams like the Kansas City Breath Mints and players like Polkadot Patterson. From there, a league plays out over the course of a week, with fans interacting by betting fictional currency on the games to then reinvest in boons for their team next season.

It's a weird game that got a lot weirder as time progressed, and I have fallen in love with it. Adding my love of Blaseball with my love of video games, I want to make what I have called the BlarPG!

Imagine Blaseball meets Twitch Plays Pokemon. I'm working on creating a few different databases for the characters, enemies, and attacks during my breaks from my Capstone project. I'm working on generating auto-scripting for the fights but I don't have anything to show just yet. My current challenge is trying to have one Pandas dataframe call another the same way I would with a SQL dataframe. Maybe I should just be doing this in SQL then? I'll come back in a couple weeks if/when I have any project to show, but I hope to get a working demo of it by the end of the year! Wish me luck!

Until then, We Are All Love Blaseball <3

Top comments (0)