DEV Community

Stacy Daniel
Stacy Daniel

Posted on

My Very First Flatiron Project!

OVERVIEW

For my first project at Flatiron, I was given the task of building a Ruby CLI Application, by either scrapping or utilizing an API from a public website.

Initially I struggled with ideas for the project. I went through many different ideas and APIs before deciding to build an app that would utilize data on the newly developing islands in the Caribbean.

DEVELOPMENT

My application uses the Rest Countries Caricom regional bloc Api, which allows any user to list a few of the countries along with its data.

First thing I needed to do was build a API class, which gathered all the information from my Apis endpoint. Secondly, a Country class which initializes object instances for the countries. And last, but not least, a Cli class which interacts with the user/users.

CONCLUSION

I learned alot during this entire process, including being able to create a new repository, adding, committing and pushing my work through github in order to save it.

My hardest struggle was not being able to properly execute my ideas in the Cli class, but after weeks of ferociously coding and with the help of my tutor Brandon, I can proudly say I am very happy to be able to immerse myself in greater depths of understanding Ruby!

Top comments (0)