DEV Community

Brian Barbour
Brian Barbour

Posted on

I did it, I'm a Software Engineer

After months of grueling study and hard work, I've made it guys. Today I signed my offer letter for a new job with Community Brands as a Software Engineer.

I can't even explain how happy I am right now. This is my dream come true.

There were times where I had doubted my ability, thought about giving up.

I never did. I kept pushing through.

Now I have a wonderful future ahead of me and I am so excited to get out there and build some amazing software.

Top comments (26)

Collapse
 
meryemjow profile image
Meryem Jourhbiri

Congratulations! your post made me smile. maybe one day i'll write a similar post, but for now, i'm just a beginner who's struggling with programming. :)

Collapse
 
guitarino profile image
Kirill Shestakov

By studying programming, you study your own mind. Keep it up!

Collapse
 
engmms profile image
engmms

Congrats, I am also start my work with PCs as Hardware engineer, it was my great fault because I understand from little years ,that Software Building more than important from Hardware maintenance, Good Luck my friend

Collapse
 
maxmaxymenko profile image
Max Maxymenko

Congratulations, hope you will enjoy the experience :) PS: Don't forget to update your work_status on DEV ;)

Collapse
 
bbarbour profile image
Brian Barbour

Ah almost forgot!

There... that looks better. I'm feeling proud to sport that Software Engineer job title. :)

Collapse
 
howbotnik profile image
howbotnik

Well done! I am currently desiring a career change too after years of studying. What were you doing before being a software engineer?

Collapse
 
bbarbour profile image
Brian Barbour

I was a PC technician.

Collapse
 
torianne02 profile image
Tori Crawford

Congrats!!!

Collapse
 
jamonjamon profile image
Jaimie Carter

Nice one. Congrats.

Collapse
 
steelwolf180 profile image
Max Ong Zong Bao • Edited

Congrats and keep up the good work!!! May the force be with you.

Collapse
 
teomazzio profile image
Matteo Mazziotti • Edited

Congrats, good luck! :)

Collapse
 
dukeboxz profile image
Stephen Jackson

Congrats

Collapse
 
kamalalykamal profile image
Kamal Aly

Congratulations! I've just graduated a month ago too.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Congrats!!!

Collapse
 
bbarbour profile image
Brian Barbour

Ben! I feel writing and reading on Dev has made me a better programmer everyday. This is place is probably my favorite outlet to share and learn about software development. Instrumental in me getting as far as I have.

So, thanks!

Collapse
 
christophervistal25 profile image
Christopher Vistal

Congratulations!

Collapse
 
stephvan profile image
Stephvan

Congratulations! I am looking forward to writing such!

Collapse
 
redariez profile image
Ade Bakari

That's wassup bro. Congrats. How long were you studying for?

Collapse
 
ajithkgshk profile image
Ajith Kumar

Congratulations!!. Hard work always pays off. Welcome to the fraternity.