DEV Community

Steven Garcia
Steven Garcia

Posted on • Updated on

What exactly led me to push myself into learning how to code?

"Hello world!" Some may have seen or heard this hundreds of times but for some of us it was the first phrase we typed when learning to code, and Ironically enough this is my very first blog to the world so indeed 👋🏼 Hello world!

This may sound kind of cliché, but when I was still working at my previous job the thought of doing the same or similar repetitive tasks everyday until retirement led me to face a reality that I was struggling with for quite some time. Can I really switch careers at this point and time of my life? Should I pursue what I really have been wanting to do or should I find an easier job that pays better just for the money? Should I open up my own business? And if so, how can I do it?

So many questions, but yet I always knew the answer. The how usually reveals itself after the yes. You just have to want it bad enough to find that it's never too late to switch careers. Once I made my decision, I chose the technology path, it's always been in me and it may sound odd but living in a small two bedroom apartment when I was a teenager with very little entertainment around the get-away from that was the computer, even with no internet around.

That’s right, remember the dial-up internet connection days? There were days where someone at home had to use the telephone so I wasn’t allowed to connect to the internet as this was the only affordable way to go online, but I would still find myself occupied and entertained by either figuring out how programs would work, exploring and tweaking multiple settings, using windows explorer, playing around in the command prompt among other things.

Anyways, still to this day I ask myself lots of questions when using programs, applications, websites, I even get upset when using an app and finding lack of simplicity; I’m the type that keeps using an android phone due to its versatility to root them for better performance in the earlier days and in the present time for freedom to customization, even when downloading updates I’m that type of curious person who always reads what the update brings to the device. So, needless to say, I love technology and it's a combination of all these things that led me to push myself to learn how to code so that I can be a contributor to many of these new technologies that we all make use of everyday.

Top comments (0)