DEV Community

Cover image for Hacktoberfest - The 3rd PRRrrrrr... hmmm...
strawberries73
strawberries73

Posted on

Hacktoberfest - The 3rd PRRrrrrr... hmmm...

For my third contribution for Hacktoberfest, I wanted to contribute to a C# project. I browsed the Hacktoberfest website and came across UtilityBelt. I looked at the files to see if this was something I'd like to try... I think C# has become one of my favorites. So um...Utility Belt, a console application that handles multiple smaller console applications using API's. Completely unsure of how I was going approach this and the format of the project was unique in comparison to what I have seen before. At Seneca I had taken a web class on ASP.NET using C#. The only thing is, I had not looked at C# since the Hackathon in June!

I created my branch and then just sat there. Reading the project so I could figure out what I would do. Since the original suggestion to me was not going to workout because I was unable to get the API. I needed to come up with something. While going over the project and discussing it with my friend, he suggested Elephants. The girl in me said "Perfect, I absolutely love Elephants!"... wait, I said that out loud!

So I went to work. I had viewed some other files so see what was necessary to include in my contribution. I also needed to view the Elephant facts. Once a basic code was made, I ran it. Not the results I wanted. Thought some more, read some more and discussed a few approaches for different outcomes. Finally figured out that I needed all the the variables to get the results and then I decided that I wanted to only print the "names" of the different elephants. After I achieved the desired results, I pushed the code and sent the pull request.

Well look at that! My contribution was approved and merged. This was a fun refresher to using web API's in C#. I feel like the memory of this process is much more preserved then doing an assignment with a deadline. It is certainly more fun when you can decide what the outcome should be!

Top comments (0)