DEV Community

Cover image for OSD600 Lab – 2 "The First PR"
strawberries73
strawberries73

Posted on

OSD600 Lab – 2 "The First PR"

September 30, 2020
In this class “Open Source Development” at Seneca, we were to file an issue on a Release 0.1 in order to add a feature to someone else’s work. Uncertainty settles in as I think about how many grey hairs this was going to create. I read through the list of features and did a little research on some code examples so I could finally decide what kind of feature to add. I learned how to create a branch after cloning my partner’s Release 0.1, and then where Issue. Now I just needed to learn how to do a pull request. Being a visual learner and several years older than probably the entire class, I requested some guidance on Teams from a fellow classmate to walk me through the process. Turned out to be not as difficult as I imagined.

The feature implementation…

I was able to find materials on Node.js to help me learn how to add the appropriate code to my partner’s Release 0.1. I created an issue to add support for DNS resolution issues. After getting permission by partner and original author, I create my branch and started to put together the code needed to implement the feature. With some trial and error and a little advice from friends, my task was complete. I picked the default value and the results return a resource record type IPv4. I then create the pull request.

I enjoyed learning how to contribute to open source. What really also impresses me about the programming environment is that it is like a community of its own. Developers helping developers. I feel like I picked the right “New” career path since I have always loved helping others. Learning new ways to code is exciting and stressful at the same time, however very rewarding.

Top comments (0)